Posted in Lighting, Practical Work, Research

Lighting overhaul

As the meeting with Ken post mentioned, lighting needed to be addressed. I looked online and found a video on rag3dviz.com, (http://rag3dviz.com/tutorial/hdri-lighting-in-unreal-engine/) of someone creating some really nice lighting with HDRI effects. I searched online for free HDRI sites and found some really good ones.

http://adaptivesamples.com/tag/free-hdr/

HDRI 360° Werfenweng, Austria

I found this one on adaptive samples, and it was free (Also copyright free)

Credit goes to Greg Zaal

I set the lighting up in Unreal and it immediately became a lot moodier, and I rotated the environment to make the sun shine behind where the statue is going to be. I set it up as the previous tutorial explains, this was my sky material:

hdri.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

